

Associate Director for ESH Environment, Safety, and Health P.O. Box 1663, MS K491 Los Alamos, New Mexico 87545 505-667-4218/Fax 505-665-3811



DEC 1 5 2015

NMED Hazardous Waste Bureau Environmental Management
Los Alamos Field Office, MS A316
3747 West Jemez Road
Los Alamos, New Mexico 87544
(505) 665-5658/FAX (505) 606-2132

Date: DEC 1 5 2015

Refer To: ADESH-15-170

LAUR: 15-29321; 15-29322

Locates Action No.: U1600209

John Kieling, Bureau Chief Hazardous Waste Bureau New Mexico Environment Department 2905 Rodeo Park Drive East, Building 1 Santa Fe, NM 87505-6303

Subject: Submittal of the Response to the Disapproval for the Investigation Report for the

Technical Area 57 Aggregate Area (Fenton Hill) and Revision 1 of the Report

Dear Mr. Kieling:

Enclosed please find two hard copies with electronic files of the Response to the Disapproval for the Investigation Report for the Technical Area 57 Aggregate Area (Fenton Hill) and Revision 1 of the report.

The U.S. Department of Energy Environmental Management and Los Alamos National Security, LLC, respectfully request a meeting with the New Mexico Environment Department to further discuss the issues identified in Specific Comment 4 of the disapproval of the Investigation Report for Technical Area 57 Aggregate Area (Fenton Hill).

If you have any questions, please contact Todd Haagenstad at (505) 665-2936 (hth@lanl.gov) or Arturo Duran at (505) 665-7772 (arturo.duran@em.doe.gov).

Sincerely,

Alison M. Dorries, Division Leader Environmental Protection Division Los Alamos National Laboratory Sincerely,

David S. Rhodes, Supervisor Environmental Management Los Alamos Field Office

S.C.L

AD/DR/BR/TH:sm

Enclosures: Two hard copies with electronic files:

- (1) Response to the Disapproval for Investigation Report for the Technical Area 57 Aggregate Area (Fenton Hill) (EP2015-0202)
- (2) Cross-reference table of NMED NOD comments and revisions to the report
- (3) Investigation Report for the Technical Area 57 Aggregate Area (Fenton Hill), Revision 1 (EP2015-0203)
- (4) An electronic copy of the redline-strikeout version of the report that includes all changes and edits to the document

Cy: (w/enc.)

emla.docs@em.doe.gov Arturo Duran, DOE-EM-LA, MS A316 Todd Haagenstad, ADEP ER Program, MS M992

Cy: (w/electronic enc.)

Laurie King, EPA Region 6, Dallas, TX
Raymond Martinez, San Ildefonso Pueblo
Dino Chavarria, Santa Clara Pueblo
Steve Yanicak, NMED-DOE-OB, MS M894
Joe English, Adelante (w/ MS Word files on CD)
Public Reading Room (EPRR)
ADESH Records
PRS Database

Cy: (w/o enc./date-stamped letter emailed)

lasomailbox@nnsa.doe.gov
Douglas Hintze, DOE-EM-LA
Kimberly Davis Lebak, DOE-NA-LA
Peter Maggiore, DOE-NA-LA
David Rhodes, DOE-EM-LA
Bruce Robinson, ADEP ER Program
Randy Erickson, ADEP
Jocelyn Buckley, ADESH-ENV-CP
Leslie Dale, ADESH-ENV-CP
Mike Saladen, ADESH-ENV-CP
Alison Dorries, ADESH-ENV-DO
Michael Brandt, ADESH
Amy De Palma, PADOPS
Craig Leasure, PADOPS