



National Nuclear Security Administration Los Alamos Site Office, MS A316 Environmental Restoration Program Los Alamos, New Mexico 87544 (505) 667-4255/FAX (505) 606-2132

Date: August 31, 2009 *Refer To*: EP2009-0333

James P. Bearzi, Bureau Chief Hazardous Waste Bureau New Mexico Environment Department 2905 Rodeo Park Drive East, Building 1 Santa Fe, NM 87505-6303

Subject: Submittal of the Response to the Notice of Disapproval for the Investigation Report for Pajarito Canyon and Revision 1

Dear Mr. Bearzi:

Enclosed please find two hard copies with electronic files of the response to the notice of disapproval for the Investigation Report for Pajarito Canyon and Revision 1 of the report. Also enclosed is an electronic copy of a redline strikeout version of the report that includes all changes made in response to the New Mexico Environment Department's (NMED's) notice of disapproval dated November 21, 2008. A table detailing where revisions have been made to the report with cross-references to NMED's numbered comments is also included. This table also cross-references additional changes made to the document to update the report to reflect other work completed since the initial report was submitted.

If you have any questions, please contact Danny Katzman at (505) 667-6333 (katzman@lanl.gov) or Suzy Schulman at (505) 606-1962 (sschulman@doeal.gov).

Sincerely,

Michael J. Graham, Associate Director Environmental Programs Los Alamos National Laboratory Sincerely,

David R. Gregory, Project Director Environmental Operations Los Alamos Site Office

James Bearzi EP2009-0333

MG/DG/DM/SP:sm

Enclosures: Two hard copies with electronic files:

- 1) Response to the Notice of Disapproval for the Investigation Report Pajarito Canyon (LA-UR-09-4669)
- 2) Investigation Report Pajarito Canyon, Revision 1 (LA-UR-09-4670)
- 3) An electronic copy of the redline strikeout version of the report that includes all changes and edits to the document
- 4) Cross-reference table of NMED NOD comments and revisions to the report
- Cy: (w/enc.)

Neil Weber, San Ildefonso Pueblo Tim Glasco, Los Alamos County Suzy Schulman, DOE-LASO, MS A316 Danny Katzman, EP-LWSP, MS M992 RPF, MS M707 (with two CDs) Public Reading Room, MS M992

Cy: (Letter and CD only) Laurie King, EPA Region 6, Dallas, TX Steve Yanicak, NMED-OB, White Rock, NM Dave Broxton, EES-16, MS T003 Kristine Smeltz, EP-WES, MS M992

Cy: (w/o enc.) Tom Skibitski, NMED-OB, Santa Fe, NM Keyana DeAguero, DOE-LASO (date-stamped letter emailed) Michael J. Graham, ADEP, MS M991 Alison M. Dorries, EP-WES, MS M996 Paul Huber, EP-LWSP, MS M992 IRM-RMMSO, MS A150 (date-stamped letter emailed)