

(505) 606-2337/FAX (505) 665-1812





National Nuclear Security Administration Los Alamos Site Office, MS A316 Environmental Restoration Program Los Alamos, New Mexico 87544 (505) 667-4255/FAX (505) 606-2132

Date: February 27, 2009 Refer To: EP2009-0086

James P. Bearzi, Bureau Chief Hazardous Waste Bureau New Mexico Environment Department 2905 Rodeo Park Drive East, Building 1 Santa Fe, NM 87505-6303

Subject: Submittal of the Response to the Notice of Disapproval Corrective Measures Evaluation Report for Material Disposal Area A, Solid Waste Management Unit 21-014, at Technical Area 21

Dear Mr. Bearzi:

Enclosed please find two hard copies with electronic files of the response to the Notice of Disapproval Corrective Measures Evaluation Report for Material Disposal Area A, Solid Waste Management Unit 21-014, at Technical Area 21. The revised corrective measures evaluation (CME) report will be submitted no later than May 15, 2009, as described in our request for extension letter dated February 23, 2009.

If you have any questions, please contact Bruce Wedgeworth at (505) 231-0108 (brucew@lanl.gov) or Woody Woodworth at (505) 665-5820 (lwoodworth@doeal.gov).

Sincerely,

Michael J. Graham, Associate Director Environmental Programs Los Alamos National Laboratory

Sincerely,

David R. Gregory, Project Director Environmental Operations Los Alamos Site Office

1.

MG/DG/AC/BW:sm

- Enclosures: (1) Two hard copies with electronic files Response to the Notice of Disapproval Corrective Measures Evaluation Report for Material Disposal Area A, Solid Waste Management Unit 21-014, at Technical Area 21 (LA-UR-09-0682)
- Cy: (w/enc.) Woody Woodworth, DOE-LASO, MS A316 Bruce Wedgeworth, EP-TA-21, MS C349 RPF, MS M707 (with two CDs) Public Reading Room, MS M992
- Cy: (Letter and CD only) Laurie King, EPA Region 6, Dallas, TX Steve Yanicak, NMED-OB, White Rock, NM Kristine Smeltz, WES-DO, MS M992 EP-TA-21 File, MS C349

Cy: (w/o enc.) Tom Skibitski, NMED-OB, Santa Fe, NM Keyana DeAguero, DOE-LASO (date-stamped letter emailed) Allan Chaloupka, EP-TA-21, MS C349 Michael J. Graham, ADEP, MS M991 Alison M. Dorries, WES-DO, MS M992 IRM-RMMSO, MS A150 (date-stamped letter emailed)